Needle Felting: Jack-o-Lanterns Pincushion & Tape Measure by Sharen Johnson

Sharen Johnson of Rutledge, TN felted these amazing Jack-O-Lanterns!

“I have been listing my specialty pincushion/tape measure novelties on www.sharryJo.etsy.com in the past
and they have been well received so I am excited to be back to felting once again.

I am so grateful for Living Felt’s quality products. They bring out the creative gene in me.

Next is a stackable pumpkin pincushion and tape measure. I needle felted
them out of the same great Merino core wool and topped them with dyed
Merino top wool
. Meet Meanie, Miney and Mo.

Meanie is on the bottom and is perplexed with the heavy weights above.
Miney is holding up well and a little better natured,
but Mo is oblivious to all below and enjoying the view from the heights.
They are a pin cushion also and entirely out of Living Felt Merino wool.
The tape is hidden under the leaves on Miney and is retracted by squeezing his sides.
He really enjoys that as he considers it a hug
.

I am limited to dial-up internet so I cannot enjoy the video workshops to give me ideas for other felting.
I have mainly just gotten an idea in my head and grab my 3 types of needles
and poke away until my idea becomes a reality.

What a fun way to vent anxieties! These 3 projects were mainly done
with the #36Triangle needle,starting with the #38Star on the core wool.

I didn’t add armature in any of these 3. They really didn’t need it and can stand alone on the felt base.

I make sure the core wool is felted pretty solidly. I sometimes add
marbles for stability embedded in the base.

Thanks for looking at my latest efforts,
Sharen Johnson

Write Love, Support & Questions Here!

