Darling Poodle Created with Own Fur and Merino Fast Felting Batts! ~ Elizabeth Payne

Needle Felted Poodle

Needle Felted Poodle

Needle Felted Poodle

Needle Felted Poodle
The Real Deal!

The Real Deal!

Elizabeth Payne, of Erie, PA, needle felted this cute pooch as her first felted pet! What an adorable little replica! She is the cutest little “poodle sheep” I’ve seen!  Good luck with your Chihuahua 🙂

“My husband has been encouraging [me] to make a sculpture of our Toy Poodle, Abbie.
I made a wire armature and covered it with Living Felt’s natural Merino Cross Fast Felting batt, then the final layers of gray in Charcoal [and]  Suede for the body, leg and ear foundations and Abbie’s Face.  The Living Felt wool gray colors were a perfect match. The texture of the Fast Felting batt was visually identical to the texture of the close cropped body fur.  Abbie’s top knot, ear outer layers, legs and tail were felted (tufted) with her own fur that I had saved from her grooming.  I grow out her coat during the winter several inches long, literally having my little “poodle sheep” shorn in the spring.  I had been saving her wool to have spun, but I think felting it will be much better!
My next challenge will be to make a sculpture of our white Chihuahua, Emma.  Ha ha, there is no fur from Emma to use.  A smooth coated dog is much more of a challenge!”

Elizabeth Payne ~ Damselfly Studio ~ Erie, PA

2 thoughts on “Darling Poodle Created with Own Fur and Merino Fast Felting Batts! ~ Elizabeth Payne

  1. Oh, this is super cute of your poodle. I have a one year old cockapoo that I just had groomed and they were kind enough to bathe her first so I could save a bunch of her hair. I intend to try to replicate her at some point. Hope my efforts come out as nicely as yours did!

    Like

  2. Very cute and very very good! I made two poodles (commissioned) but since both were Black, the photos just didn’t show that well. Also used the actual dog hair over the wool batt bodies. LOVE yours!

    Like

Write Love, Support & Questions Here!

