Felted Garden of Peace Scarf by Jeanne Norris

FELTED SCARF

GARDEN OF PEACE - FELTED SCARF

FELTED SCARF
FELTED SCARF

 Jeanne Norris of Constable, NY shares this wonderful scarf
entitled GARDEN OF PEACE. This looks like a perfect project
for Peace Felt!

 

HOW SHE DID IT:

Jeanne used an 8×54 silk chiffon scarf, merino top, and needle felted on the design.
She then used a steam iron to tame the frizzies and create a smoother felt.

 

“Here’s my “sampler” scarf – my first one. It was such fun that I became “obsessed” with it
and had to work on it til done. Important thing I learned is this: if you want to felt both sides, do the back first,
because the felting marks will come thru onto your design. I’m ready for another one!”

“I call it a “sampler” because it was my first silk scarf project. The dove of peace is made from a tiny bit of core wool! This is needle felted, not wet felted, but I did steam iron it after I was done and that brought down all the “fluff” that sometimes sticks up. I’m using it as a runner on my dresser.”

One thought on “Felted Garden of Peace Scarf by Jeanne Norris

  1. I just have a couple of questions about this lovely project. Did you needle felt directly on a silk scarf? I have tried and it snags and pulls thread. I have successfully applied lightly felted designs by trapping them in the wool applied to the silk. I would be interested in how you did this. Thanks

    Like

Write Love, Support & Questions Here!

