A Little Felted Flair for the Winter

 Mary Ashmore created this wonderful, free spirited hat, and we think it will turn a few heads this winter!

Mary shares her technique, and says, “I wet felt a basic  hood and then shape it on a plain hat block.  I use sewing, needle felting, blocking, wire and anything else that may come to hand to create the shapes which I do free-form (wherever the felt takes me.  This hat is a combination of merino and corriedale.  I blend different types of wool and occasionally silk to produce felts with different properties.

 

I learned early on that Olive Oil soap is wonderful for felting and leaves the wool in great shape.  I use your olive oil soap because it’s a good value and great quality, and I don’t just use it for feltmaking.

Write Love, Support & Questions Here!

