Needle and Wet Felted Hat

Needle and Wet Felted Hat by Miriam

 

Needle and Wet Felted Hat

We love this needle and wet felted hat by Miriam Rosenblatt! She made this from the Living Felt Needle Felting a Hat Kit and used the Child Size Hat Form

“I finally finished the hat …  Making the hat was easy, it just took a long while for me to get around to felting it.  Here are some pictures of the blocking in progress and the final result.

(the weather is constantly gray here in the winter, so apologies for the lighting).  The main color is blue violet [Living Felt MC-1 Indigo] and is trimmed in red-violet. [Living Felt MC-1 Red Indigo]” 

Blocking a wet felted hat

Well, I’m past the fear of felting phase.  I would tell people to just do it — the shaping and finishing is what matters.  The hat was too big and I wasn’t sure I would be happy with the final result / the fit.    I decided to go ahead and block/ finish.  I had felted bags in the past and knew I could refelt it if needed; better to err on the large size.  Once it dried, it looked OK. 

Needle and Wet Felted Hat from Living Felt Needle Felting a Hat Kit

I then really ruminated about how to finish the hat.  I found an elastic trim and flower in my local yarn shop that I liked and the rest fell into place.  Not only did it fit perfectly, but it looked great and am really pleased with it. 

I started another hat using some gray-black-silk marbled roving in my stash and am planning another in using some green roving. 
Well, you have a fan! 

Thanks so much!
Miriam R – Beachwood, Ohio

One thought on “Needle and Wet Felted Hat by Miriam

Write Love, Support & Questions Here!

