Lovely example of Needle Felted Animals! Needle Felted Giraffe by Shelly Schwartz Featured on www.livingfelt.com/blog

Graceful Needle Felted Giraffe

Lovely example of Needle Felted Animals! Needle Felted Giraffe by Shelly Schwartz Featured on www.livingfelt.com/blog

Shelly Schwartz of Michigan has always loved giraffes and has sculpted them many times from clay,
but she only recently discovered needle felting on Etsy and started felting animals just a few months ago.

Shelly shares, “This giraffe is the fifth animal I needle felted, from the supplies I purchased from Living Felt. I would like to make a tiger someday, but the spots on the giraffe took so long to do that it may be a while before I get inspired for another spotted or striped animal.”
The giraffe was sculpted over a wire armature with MC-1 Felting Batts in:  Natural Cotton, Winter Grey and Black Onyx. Her spots are NZ Corriedale Toffee and her tail has black Tibetan Lamb’s wool. She is a little over 12 inches tall.

Lovely example of Needle Felted Animals! Needle Felted Giraffe by Shelly Schwartz Featured on www.livingfelt.com/blog

Shelley generously shared some tips on how she used the long fibers of NZ Corriedale to make such tiny spots:

“I pulled off small amounts and rolled them into a ball, tucking in the loose fibers as I rolled them, then tacked them on with either a 38 star [felting] needle and 40 triangle depending on the size of the spots. Then I used the pink pen tool to tighten them down and smooth them better. For the mane, I only cut the fibers after I attached the mane to her neck.”

Lovely example of Needle Felted Animals! Needle Felted Giraffe by Shelly Schwartz Featured on www.livingfelt.com/blog

“I love needle felting and Living Felt has made things so easy to get started and has all of the supplies and colors that I need to bring my critters to life. Thank you for inspiring me every week through your emails.” ~ Shelly

Follow Shelly on etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/rainabedaina/

Write Love, Support & Questions Here!

