Felting Wild Life with Judy Titche

Judy Titche Needle Felted Animals Ducklings Turtle on www.livingfelt.com/blog

Judy Titche lives in Indiana and is a trained artist with a degree in painting and drawing. Her creative exploration, however, has moved her more toward 3D works which she really enjoys.  Her felted animals and the rich colors and textures in her scenes are utterly brilliant.

Judy Titche Needle Felted Animals Ducklings Turtle on www.livingfelt.com/blog

I have done a great deal of work in 3D mosaics. My current show at the Art Museum of Greater Lafayette is a combination of mosaics and fiber held together by the theme of animals.”

“I have always had a fascination with vintage fabric and needlework. I saw a photo of needle felted embellishment and I plunged in head first. I love to learn new art forms and I also like the challenge of pushing them to their/my limits. I like the little ”surprises” of wet felting and the variety of color in wool rovings.  Needle felting is both a challenging and unique sculpting medium.  I find the final form is also unique in its texture and detail.”

 

Judy Titche Felted Animals on www.livingfelt.com/blog

Judy considers “nature” to be her greatest inspiration. “Every day I am amazed at the beauty of nature. I think I captured some of that beauty in my baby duck piece, the Snowy Owl and the Cardinals in a Magnolia Tree.”

Judy Titche  Felted Owl  on www.livingfelt.com/blog

Judy shared that her greatest artistic challenges to date were around the felted snowy owl hanging in her current solo show.

“I think the Snowy Owl was the most challenging due to the armature I had to build to provide support for the life sized wings and body. Also the installation piece around the owl was quite challenging.  My vision was to create an ethereal setting for the owl to be flying through.  I was quite pleased with the final result.”

Judy Titche  Felted Owl  on www.livingfelt.com/blog

Next on her bucket list of “things to felt” is an installation representing several different jellyfish.

 Judy offers encouraging words to those just getting started:

 “Keep your eyes open and look, look, look. Train yourself to see detail and the numerous hidden treasures all around you.  There are innumerable textures and color combinations that are awe inspiring. Use what you see as  inspiration for your work.”

Judy Titche  Felted Owl  on www.livingfelt.com/blog

Judy shared her use of Living Felt Fibers and tools:        “I use Living Felt core wool for most of my 3D work.  I like the foam pads for needle felting and Merino wool for its softness and color variety.”

 Besides her current exhibit, you can see more of Judy’s eclectic style in her etsy shop: ReZoom

Write Love, Support & Questions Here!

