Felted Jabba the Hut by Rachele Misiti using Living Felt MC-1 Batts

Felted Jabba the Hut is AMAZING!

Felted Jabba the Hut by Rachele Misiti using Living Felt MC-1 Batts

We received a message from Rachele Misiti that shouted out with great exhuberance,
“…This is your wool!”  Wow…we could not have predicted this!!

I used about 20 ozs of MC1 Bamboo MC-1 merino cross back and various shades from the Green merino cross studio pack. I began by making the “skin” by welt felting a large sheet using the variations in the greens to create depth. 

I then wet felted the basic shape of the head by felting it over a rubber ball. 

After this dried into the shape, I stuff the head shape with wool and hand sewed a bottom made of woven wool to later be attached to my son’s hoody.

 Felted Jabba the Hut by Rachele Misiti using Living Felt MC-1 Batts

At this point the real sculpting began, I needle felted the shape of the head and the features of his face to include wrinkles, the ridge of his mouth and his nose.

 I made  his eyes from sculpey, painted them w/ acrylic paint and then attached them to the face. 

I continued to develop the folds/ wrinkles through loose stitches gathered around the head.

 Next I sewed the head onto a small hoody and gently opened up a face hole for my son to peek out of, I hand sewed a seam to create a clean line.

 Felted Jabba the Hut by Rachele Misiti using Living Felt MC-1 Batts

This probably took about 20 hours of work but was worth it! I love working on large scale projects but even more to see my 4 ½ year old son so excited! He is a huge start wars fan and can’t wait until the movie comes out!”

 Rachele Misiti, Texas

One thought on “Felted Jabba the Hut is AMAZING!

Write Love, Support & Questions Here!

