Felted Owl Cape by Maggie Nutting on www.LivingFelt.com/blog

Felted Owl Cape with a Wonderful Story!

Felted Owl Cape by Maggie Nutting on www.LivingFelt.com/blogA wish, some clay sculptures, wool, and creativity connect 4 generations.

This incredible owl cape has quite a story!

“My mother was the initial inspiration for the Owl Cape,
along with the fact that my daughter loves the barn owl.

My mother passed last year due to aggressive lung cancer;
before she left us, she requested that I create something with the
“Clay Owl eyes and beak” she’d had for some twenty plus years.

She said, “I know you will make something special out of these”.

Maggie_Nutting_OwlCape2

I was to make something for my eldest daughter, Kat,
as she lives in Ontario and we live in British Columbia about 3,000 miles away.
Kat, my daughter, was not able to make it out to see her Grand-mother (my mom)
before she passed; my mother wanted to leave her something really special.

Felted Owl Cape by Maggie Nutting on www.LivingFelt.com/blog

I purchased most of the wool to make this cape from Living Felt.
I love the large pre-felt piece. It made shaping the wings
and hood a simpler task.I needle felted the piece first
and then completed it with wet felt technique.

The person that is modelling the Owl cape is my Grand-daugher, Juliette…

Maggie-Nutting-Owl1

Felted Owl Cape by Maggie Nutting on www.LivingFelt.com/blog

Felted Owl Cape by Maggie Nutting on www.LivingFelt.com/blog

I have attached photos of what the cape looked like whilst I was working on it.
I will be making more of these kinds of Totem Wear
here on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and hopefully
starting my web page this coming week.

(We will post Maggie’s website when she makes it available!)

2 thoughts on “Felted Owl Cape with a Wonderful Story!

Write Love, Support & Questions Here!

