Cute Wool Coat with Needle Felted Animals

Needle Felted Wool Coat with Bunnies by Susan Nelson featured on www.livingfelt.com/blog

What a story … wait til you read how she needle felted her first items…can you say Pioneer Woman?!

“I saw some felting on Facebook a few months ago. I live on Vancouver island way out in the boonies on the west coast. I watched a video to see that I needed a needle with some barbs on it. so I found a hat pin and snagged it with some wire cutters. I made a hare and was quite proud of myself. I found a store that I drove two hours to get to. I went in and there sat six people with spinning wheels. I thought I had gone back in time.

Purchased a couple needles. He had a tough one and regular. It didn’t take me very long to see how restricted I was with the needles. I sew and I understand needles so I looked again on the Internet and found Living felt. I ordered lots of needles.

Needle Felted Wool Coat with Bunnies by Susan Nelson featured on www.livingfelt.com/blog

Now I can control and sculpt fine details. the needles make all the difference. I had a piece of wool fabric . I placed some little pictures of critters that I had traced on to wash away interfacing. It is very fine, not good enough for embroidery work. It felted right into the fabric mostly or just pulled off as I worked up the the edges of the bunny. I was surprised how quickly each animal worked up. Important to plan colours that will show up. Looking forward to my next project.”

– Susan Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

Write Love, Support & Questions Here!

